Connect with us


2022 FIFA World Cup: List of 16 Countries Qualified for Knockout Stage



2022 FIFA World Cup

2022 FIFA World Cup: List of 16 countries Qualified for Knockout Stage

Following the completion of the Qatar FIFA World Cup 2022’s group stages, we have compiled the full list of countries that have made it to the knockout stage.

The 32 teams competing at the Qatar 2022 World Cup were divided into eight groups – Group A to H – for the first phase.

In every group, each team faces each other once in a single-headed round robin format and the top two teams from each group qualify for the FIFA World Cup 2022 Round of 16 – the first of the knockout stages.


Reigning champions France, from Group D, were the first team to make the cut for the Round of 16 after winning their first two group games convincingly. Les Bleus first beat Australia 4-1 before outplaying Denmark 2-1.

With it, France became the first defending champions, since Brazil in 2006, to avoid a group-stage exit from the FIFA World Cup. Italy in 2010, Spain in 2014, and Germany in 2018, were all knocked out in the Group stage.

France, however, lost their last group game against Tunisia but still went through as the toppers ahead of Australia.

Kylian Mbappe has been the standout player for France so far and is one of the frontrunners for the FIFA World Cup 2022 top scorer award.


Similarly, Cody Gakpo has spearheaded the Netherlands’ campaign as the Dutch qualified for the Round of 16 as the top-placed team from Group A.

A late goal from captain Kalidou Koulibaly, meanwhile, helped Senegal oust Ecuador in their final group game, a match which was a virtual playoff, to go through as the second-placed team from the group.

Group B has also been decided as England, with two wins and a draw won the group. A Christian Pulisic goal in the vital final match against Iran, meanwhile, helped the USA men’s football team advance as the second-placed team from Group B.

Brazil, despite missing star Neymar owing to an injury, sealed an early ticket to the knockouts from Group G by winning their opening two matches (2-0 vs Serbia and 1-0 vs Switzerland).


Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal also made a hassle-free cut for the knockouts from Group G, after defeating Ghana 3-2 and Uruguay 2-0.

Cameroon was able to pull-off their biggest victory in history after beating Brazil 1-0 but it was not enough to take them to the next stage as Switzerland beat Serbia 3-2 to qualify with Brazil in Group G.

Below are full list of 16 countries that made it to the Knockout Stage of the ongoing Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

2022 FIFA World Cup: List of 16 countries Qualified for Knockout Stage

  1. Netherlands
  2. Senegal
  3. England
  4. USA
  5. France
  6. Australia
  7. Argentina
  8. Poland
  9. Morocco
  10. Croatia
  11. Brazil
  12. Portugal
  13. Japan
  14. South Korea
  15. Switzerland
  16. Spain
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Do You Want Latest Update?