Connect with us


List Of Nigeria Super Eagles Coaches Since Inception



List Of Nigeria Super Eagles Coaches Since Inception

List Of Nigeria Super Eagles Coaches Since Inception

In this article, we will be walking you through the list of Nigeria Super Eagles Coaches who have coached the National side since 1949 till date, so make sure you read until the end.

The Nigeria Super Eagles have recorded a total of 47 coaches since 1949 till present and the most successful coach in Nigeria history remains Jo Bonfrere (1995–1996) who made sure Nigeria Super Eagles won the Atalanta 1996 Olympic Gold medal.

You may also want to read Nigerian Super Eagles 2022 World Cup Qualifying Fixtures Revealed


Gernot Rohr is currently the Supper Eagles coach after taking over from Sunday Oliseh in 2016 and has lasted more than any other coach that has coached the National team.

List Of Nigeria Super Eagles Coaches Since Inception

Below is a list of all Super Eagles coaches from 1949 till date:

1. England: Jack Finch (1949)

2. Nigeria: Daniel Anyiam (1954–1956)


3. England: Les Courtier (1956–1960)

4. Israel: Moshe “Jerry” Beit haLevi (1960–1961)

5. Hungary: George Vardar (1961–1963)

6. England: Joey Blackwell (1963–1964)


7. Nigeria: Daniel Anyiam (1964–1965)

8. Hungary: József Ember (1965–1968)

9. Spain: Sabino Barinaga (1968–1969)

10. Nigeria: Peter ‘Eto’ Amaechina (1969–1970)


11. West Germany: Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1970–1971)

12. Brazil: Jorge Penna (1972–1973)

13. West Germany: Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1974)

14. Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia: Tihomir Jelisavčić (1974–1978)


15. Brazil: Otto Glória (1979–1982)

16. West Germany: Gottlieb Göller (1981)

17. Nigeria: Festus Onigbinde (1983–1984)

18. Nigeria: Chris Udemezue (1984–1986)


19. Nigeria: Patrick Ekeji (1985)

20. Nigeria: Paul Hamilton (1987–1989)

21. West Germany: Manfred Höner (fr) (1988–1989)

22. Netherlands: Clemens Westerhof (1989–1994) as Technical Adviser


23. Nigeria: Shaibu Amodu (1994–1995)

24. Netherlands: Jo Bonfrere (1995–1996)

25. Nigeria: Shaibu Amodu (1996–1997)

26. France: Philippe Troussier (1997)


27. Nigeria: Monday Sinclair (1997–1998)

28. Federal Republic of Yugoslavia: Bora Milutinović (1998)

29. Netherlands: Thijs Libregts (1999)

30. Netherlands: Jo Bonfrere (1999–2001)


31. Nigeria: Shaibu Amodu (2001–2002)

32. Nigeria: Festus Onigbinde (2002)

33. Nigeria: Christian Chukwu (2002–2005)

34. Nigeria: Augustine Eguavoen (2005–2007)


35. Germany: Berti Vogts (2007–2008)

36. Nigeria: James Peters (2008)

37. Nigeria: Shaibu Amodu (2008–2010)

38. Sweden: Lars Lagerbäck (2010)


39. Nigeria: Augustine Eguavoen (2010)

40. Nigeria: Samson Siasia (2010–2011)

41. Nigeria: Stephen Keshi (2011–2014)

42. Nigeria: Shaibu Amodu (2014)


43. Nigeria: Stephen Keshi (2014)

44. Nigeria: Daniel Amokachi (2014–2015)

45. Nigeria: Stephen Keshi (2015)

46. Nigeria: Sunday Oliseh (2015-2016)


47. Germany: Gernot Rohr (2016–present)

5 most successful Super Eagles Coaches in History

1. Tihomir Jelisavčić (1974–1978): Tihomir Jelisavcic took over as the head coach of the Nigeria Super Eagles in 1974 after Karl-Heinz Marotzke was sacked in 1974. Although he failed to win the Gold medal but he was successful considering the fact that he took the team to third place two times in 1976 and 1978 and then being the first time they would be winning third place medals.

2. Otto Gloria (1979–1982): The Brazilian was appointed the head coach of the Super Eagles in 1979. He was the most successful at that time as he won the first-ever AFCON for the country in 1980 after the country trashed Algeria team 3- 0 in Lagos to become the Champion of Africa for the first time.

3. Clemens Westerhof (1989–1994): After Otto Gloria was sacked in 1982, many coaches took over his role but could not make any impact until Clemens Westerhof took over in 1989. He recorded a lot of success during his time with the team reaching 2nd place and 3rd place of the AFCON in 1990 and 1992 respectively before finally winning the second AFCON for the country in 1994 and also took the team to the second round of the 1994 World Cup after topping the table in the group stage.


4. Jo Bonfrere (1995–1996): Jo Bonfrere first coached the Nigerian Women’s team before he was appointed to coach the men’s team between 1995 and 1996. Even though, he has a short time he was able to achieve Nigeria and even Africa’s greatest pride by winning Gold at the Olympic Game of 1996 at Atalanta.

5. Stephen Keshi (2015): We all know our very own Stephen Keshi, the most successful local coach of the Super Eagles. He was the former defender and captain of the Super Eagles before he retired and was given the Nigeria Super Eagles coach role in 2015. He was able to win the third AFCON cup for the country in 2013, which made him the first Nigerian player to win the AFCON as a coach and as a player. He was also the first African to qualify for two African Nations ( Nigeria and Togo ).

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Nigeria Releases Full List Of 28 Man Squad For AFCON 2021 - FlippStack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Do You Want Latest Update?