Connect with us

Business & Loans

Full List Of CBN Governors In Nigeria From 1959 Till Date



Full List Of CBN Governors In Nigeria From 1959 Till Date

Full List Of CBN Governors In Nigeria From 1959 Till Date

Welcome to Flippstack, in this article, we will be walking you through full list of Central Bank of Nigeria CBN Governors from 1959 till date, so make sure you read until the end.

The Central Bank of Nigeria CBN came into existence in 1958 from the 1958 Act of Parliament 1991, 1993, 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2007.


The CBN Act of 2007 of the Federal Republic of Nigeria bestowed the Bank with the overall control and administration of the monetary and financial sector policies of the Federal Government.

Objectives Of Central Bank of Nigeria

Below are the objectives of the CBN

  1. To ensure monetary and price stability
  2. To issue legal tender currency in Nigeria
  3. To maintain external reserves to safeguard the international value of the legal tender currency
  4. To promote a sound financial system in Nigeria; and
  5. To act as Banker and provide economic and financial advice to the Federal Government.

List of Past CBN Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN)

Below is the full list of CBN Governors From 1959 till date.

  1. Roy Pentelow Fenton, From: (1958 – 1963).
  2. Alhaji Aliyu Mai-Bornu, From: (1963 – 1967).
  3. Dr. Clement Nyong Isong, From: (1972 – 1975).
  4. Mallam Adamu Ciroma, From: (1975 – 1977).
  5. Mr. O. Ola. Vincent, From: (1977 – 1982).
  6. Alahji Abdulkadir Ahmed From: (1982 – 1993).
  7. Dr. Paul Agbai Ogwuma, From: (1993 – 1999).
  8. Chief (Dr.) Joseph Oladele Sanusi, CON  From: (1999 – 2004).
  9. Prof. Chukwuma C. Soludo, CFR From: (2004 – 2009).
  10. Mallam Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, CON From: (2009 – 2014).
  11. Mr. Godwin Emefiele, CON From: (2014 – To Date).

Basically, the Bank is charged with the responsibility of administering the Banks and Other Financial Institutions (BOFI) Act (1991) as amended, with the sole aim of ensuring high standards of banking practice and financial stability through its surveillance activities, as well as the promotion of an efficient payment system.

In addition to its core functions, CBN has over the years performed some major developmental functions, focussed on all the key sectors of the Nigerian economy (financial, agricultural, and industrial sectors). Overall, these mandates are carried out by the Bank through its various departments.

Full List Of CBN Governors In Nigeria From 1959 Till Date

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Full List Of Anambra State Governors From 1976 Till Date - FlippStack

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Do You Want Latest Update?